Top News

The ball on which Akash Deep blowed the root stumps, was it no ball?
Samira Vishwas | July 9, 2025 1:24 AM CST

New Delhi. Akash Deep (AAkaash Deep) Questions are being raised on the leagality of the ball on which the ball like Joe Root was scattered. Akash Deep (AAkaash Deep)) The ball was bowled by going to the Wide of the Crease, which Joe Root tried to defend, but the ball was uprooted by his off stump. Whether this ball was legal or not, did the umpire a lapse? On this, the statement of Merilbone Cricket Club i.e. MCC has come out, which prepares rules for international cricket. The MCC believes that nothing is wrong in the dismissal of the root.

  • Also read India put a ball on the trade deal in the American frost, there is no compromise on rice, dairy, wheat…

It was claimed by Akash Deep, the ball that put the root, his foot was touched by the return crease in the side of bowling. It is true that Akash Deep’s foot was touched from the return crease, but if you look at the rules, you will find that touching the return crease is not a crime, but your first impact should not be on it. In this case, Akash Deep’s claw was inside the crease and when he went ahead to bowl, he touched his foot return crease. In this way, this ball of Akash Deep was completely legal, on which Joe was root out.

Akash Deep made Joe Root clean on the second ball of the tenth over. The veteran English batsman was completely baffled by the Indian fast bowler’s inner ball, but shortly after, footage of the bowler’s previous leg came out, causing a ruckus in a section of the media that it was a backfoot no ball and hence the ball was not legal, on which the batsman was not to be out. Some commentators made on air comments that it should have been no ball. These included former England batsman Jonathan Trot, but Ravi Shastri considered this ball completely legal.

According to Cricbuzz, MCC spokesperson said about the matter, “On the fourth day of India’s Test match against England last week, questions were raised on the ball of Akash Deep, on which the root was bold, some fans and commentators believed that it was no ball, while the Akash Deep was unusually landed on the crease and his previous leg was seen to be the ground back, the ground was seen on the ground, the third hopper was seen on the ground, the third hopper The ball was not said. MCC is happy to make it the right decision according to the law. “

Citing the relevant law, the MCC said that in the law 21.5.1, it has been said, “To be fair in relation to the feet, the bowler’s previous leg in delivery strid should be landed within the corporate of his remedy and it should be landed within the corruption to his delivery. Touches, that leg is considered on the ground and the position of the foot at that time is seen as a backfoot no ball. “

In this case, clearly, when Akash Deep’s foot touches the ground for the first time, his backfoot was inside and the return was not touching the crease. Maybe some part of his foot has later touched the ground outside the crease – it is not relevant to this rule. At the time of landing he was inside the crease and so it was right to be considered as legal delivery. Root’s wicket was a major success for India and it limited England, chasing a huge target of 608 runs, to 50 runs for 3 wickets in the third session of the fourth day.


READ NEXT
Cancel OK