Top News

Womens World Cup 2025: MCC’s decision on Muniba Ali’s runout in India-Pakistan match, what was really dishonest?
admin | October 7, 2025 11:23 AM CST

Womens World Cup 2025: MCC's decision on Muniba Ali's runout in India-Pakistan match, what was really dishonest?

MCC's decision on Muniba Ali Runout (Photo: PTI)

IND w vs pak w: The India-Pakistan match ended at the Women's ODI World Cup 2025. But the dispute that has happened in it is still affected. There was a dispute over Muniba Ali's run out in the India-Pakistan match. The decision of the third umpire was questioned. But now MCC i.e. Merilbone Cricket Club has given its verdict with him. MCC clarified its position and said that the decision of the third umpire was completely correct and according to the rules.

How was the runout given to Muniba Ali?

India won the Women's ODI World Cup by 88 runs played against Pakistan on 5 October. Pakistani opener Muniba Ali was run out during the same match. This incident is from the fourth over of Pakistan's inning, on whose last ball Muniba Ali got relief from LBW. But at the same time, as soon as she came out of the crease, Deepti Sharma's throw was directly on the stumps. Muniba's bat was first on the ground inside the crease, but the bat was in the air at the time of the ball. Third umpire Kerin Classte called him a run out.

Pakistan captain Fatima Sana Khan protested against this decision. According to him, Muniba was not trying to take the run and his bat was in the first crease.

MCC said, the decision of third umpire is correct

MCC has now justified this entire episode as correct. MCC said that the third umpire's decision to give Muniba Ali a runout was in accordance with the rules of cricket. And, there was no lapse in it. MCC cited Rule 30.1.2. According to this rule, if a batsman keeps a part (bat or body) from the crease on the ground while running or diveing ​​towards the crease and then loses contact, he will not be considered out.

MCC made it clear that these rules apply only to those batsmen who are running or diving. Muniba was neither running nor diving. He took a guard from outside the crease and his legs never came inside the crease. In this context, it was further stated that Muniba's bat was in the crease for a very short time, but when the ball hit the wickets, her bat was in the air, she was neither running nor diving, so she did not get the benefit of the rules with bounced bat. And, the third umpire, following the correct rules, called Muniba Ali as run out.


READ NEXT
Cancel OK