Top News

WhatsApp is bringing AI scam alert, will caution before fraudulent chat
Samira Vishwas | August 14, 2026 9:24 PM CST

Desk: If you use WhatsApp for messaging then there is good news for you. WhatsApp is working on a new AI-based scam alert feature, which can detect suspicious chats and warn users. According to the report, this feature will check the messages using machine learning on the device itself. If signs of a scam are detected in a conversation, a warning can be shown to the user inside the chat. The special thing is that this feature will be optional and is currently being tested with limited beta users.

According to the report, WhatsApp's new scam alert feature will analyze messages on the device and try to detect whether the conversation is to a possible scam or not. If the system finds something suspicious, a warning can be shown to the user inside the chat. This warning will be visible only to the user and the other person will not get information about it. After this the user can block that contact, report the conversation or continue the chat.




    • Read this also Threat to bomb six places in Delhi before Independence Day, security agencies alert

    If WhatsApp mistakenly considers a normal conversation suspicious, the user can mark that chat as trusted. After doing this, the alert for that conversation will likely be removed and the feature will no longer highlight it. If the user wants, he can also share his last five received messages with WhatsApp. According to the report, this will be completely optional and can be used to improve the accuracy of the scam detection system.

    Special attention has also been paid to privacy in the new feature. According to the report, when scam detection is turned on, the content of the message will not go out of the user's device for investigation. Just because a conversation is considered suspicious will not automatically report it to WhatsApp, Meta or any other party. Users can turn off the scam alert feature whenever they want. Currently, this feature has been rolled out as an option for a limited number of beta users.


    READ NEXT
    Cancel OK